General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie- Chicago Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-06-27 1:18 PM

User image

Subject: Newbie- Chicago
Hi every one. I will be taking part in my first triathlon in 2011 Chicago Triathlon. I signed up for the international competition, so yikes! Since this is my first time, I have tons of questions like if I am bring my cleats and running shoes, where am I to put them during the event? I am super excited to be doing this and quite nervous as well. Also, I will be in the Lady Clydesdale division in the 160-179lbs group. Hope to hear back from the vets and other newbies!

2011-06-27 1:26 PM
in reply to: #3569481

User image

Regular
Chicago
Subject: RE: Newbie- Chicago

Welcome to triathlon!

At the Chicago Tri, there will be a transition area. Before the race, find your transition spot (probably marked by wave start) and rack your bike. You also can lay down a towel and on that towel place your cleats and running shoes, extra water or sports drink, GUs, a visor, or anything else you might like during the race. When you are done swimming, you run to your transition area, there you can put on your bike stuff. When you are done biking, you run to the same transition spot, take off your cleats and put on anything else you may like for the run - like a hat or running shoes.

Hope that answers your question! Good luck!

2011-06-27 3:11 PM
in reply to: #3569495

User image

Extreme Veteran
Chicago