General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Free Weights vs Body Weight Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-07-30 4:31 AM

User image

Urbana Illinois
Subject: Free Weights vs Body Weight

I started training for a triathlon about a week ago, and have already noticed weight loss and seem thinner. I was wondering which type of workout is better while training for a tri - Free weight or Body Weight, or a combination of the two? Last summer I did stronglifts 5x5, and this summer I have pretty much done nothing in terms of strength training. Any advice would be awesome, and any tips on creating a successful, muscle building workout for a beginner triathlete would be like even more awesome. Thanks!

Zach.

2011-07-30 7:51 AM
in reply to: #3621583

User image

Payson, AZ
Subject: RE: Free Weights vs Body Weight
Body weight workouts are not going to gain you a lot of muscle.  I think it's really good for toning muscle and one of the best ways to do functional exercises that work the muscles that the swimming/biking/running don't.  The goal being to keep all muscles engaged and growing and if your lucky help prevent injuries.  If you want to gain, or even really keep, your muscles you will need to go heavy.  If you have the time I honestly would go for both, probably start on a body weight workout, work that core, keep the shoulders and hips strong and then as you see your fitness increase start adding in some heavier weights if you have the time.  If you added it in now while just starting to train odds are your muscles won't like you so much as you go out to bike and run.  Wait for that set of muscles to develop a bit first.
2011-07-30 10:32 AM

Elite
Denver, Colorado
Physiologically, there is no difference. With barbells, you are applying resistance against your muscles. With bodyweight, you are - wait for it - applying resistance against your muscles. The difference is the implement - barbells vs. your own body.
2011-07-30 11:48 AM

User image

Veteran