General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner biking question - Don't know where else to ask Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-08-08 1:29 PM

Regular
American Fork, Utah
Subject: Beginner biking question - Don't know where else to ask

Since I am very new to biking, I have a few questions and I’m hoping even if this isn’t the correct forum to ask them on, they can get answered.  Right now I ride a mountain bike with plain old “put your foot on top of the pedal” pedals. 

How much difference would it make if I upgraded them?

What are my options for upgrading?

What are clipless?

Do I need special shoes for special pedals?

Can you buy shoes that work for multiple different pedals?

Approximate cost of a new setup? 

Anyone have any old pedals and shoes (US 8.5 or 9) that they would want to get rid of cheap?

2011-08-08 1:50 PM
in reply to: #3634285

User image

Champion
New York, NY
Subject: RE: Beginner biking question - Don't know where else to ask
FERG DADDY - 2011-08-08 2:29 PM

Since I am very new to biking, I have a few questions and I’m hoping even if this isn’t the correct forum to ask them on, they can get answered.  Right now I ride a mountain bike with plain old “put your foot on top of the pedal” pedals. 

How much difference would it make if I upgraded them?

What are my options for upgrading?

What are clipless?

Do I need special shoes for special pedals?

Can you buy shoes that work for multiple different pedals?

Approximate cost of a new setup? 

Anyone have any old pedals and shoes (US 8.5 or 9) that they would want to get rid of cheap?

you have platform pedals

there are many options for clipless which is how you would upgrade.  yes you need special shoes, with the cleat specific to the pedal.

check the classified re anyone selling.

your best bet is to go see the various kinds of cleats at your LBS

2011-08-09 8:57 AM
in reply to: #3634285

User image

Elite
Venture Industries,