Finish Line Productions, L.L.C.
64F / 18C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 17m 51s
Overall Rank = 66/229
Age Group = 45-49
Age Group Rank = 6/17
Pre-race routine:

I ate some granola, a banana, and a PowerBar for breakfast. Left my house at about 5:45 AM. It took me about an hour-and-a-half to drive to the race site. There was plenty of room in the transition area to rack my bike, etc.
Event warmup:

I ran a couple of laps around a nearby soccer field and stretched for a few minutes.
Swim
  • 15m 59s
  • 820 yards
  • 01m 57s / 100 yards
Comments:

Typical beach swim start. Each wave started from a coral about 50 yards from the water next to the wharf on Cowell's Beach in Santa Cruz. The course was sort of rectangular and went in a clock-wise direction. It's really hard assess how I did. The yardage was off (short), and the swim time included a 1/3 mile run from the beach to the transition area. I'm still not a very proficient swimmer. But I felt like I did okay. I actually like swimming in cold water (it was somewhere around 53-55 degrees). I wasn't sure if I'd need shoes when I was running on the pavement between the beach and the transition area, but it was no problem going barefoot.
What would you do differently?:

I think I need to time my warm-up swim a little better. I felt really good during my warm-up. But after coming ashore, I stood around on the beach for about 10 minutes. By the time my wave started, I felt tight (not in a good way).
Transition 1
  • 01m 1s
Comments: