General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Cannondale CAD3 vs. newer bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-10-01 12:36 AM

Subject: Cannondale CAD3 vs. newer bike

Hey everyone I'm completely new to triathlons and the such. I've swam on a high school team and did cross country one year so I'm pretty good in those sections, but completely overwhelmed with the biking section. I'm currently looking for an entry-level cheap as possible bike to use to train and learn proper technique and such. I've found an ad for a cheaper roadbike(unsure if its a tri bike) that I found on craigslist for a Cannondale CAD3 for about 350. I understand this bike is old, but my question is if I should go ahead with this ad or look into buying a sameprice road bike but newer. Please let me know as soon as possible!

Thanks

2011-10-01 5:01 PM
in reply to: #3707357

User image

Veteran
Hudson Valley
Subject: RE: Cannondale CAD3 vs. newer bike

I believe the CAAD 3 was the last Cannondale to use the heavier quill stem and threaded fork. This is an extremely stiff frame, so you will want to have a gel seat.  Make sure the bike has 9 speed shimano 105 components or better. This should be a good training bike, and one to learn bike mechanics.

As a testament to Cannondales, I still have my first Cannondale I bought in 1988. Last winter I started with the bare frame and replaced EVERY component, including the wheels. I also have a Cannondale CX, and am looking get a Cannondale road bike. My girlfriend has 3 Cannondales. They have been that reliable and comfortable to ride.

2011-10-01 7:15 PM
in reply to: #3707710

User image

Veteran
Prairie Village, Kansas