General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IMPROVE RUNNING SPEED Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-09-26 8:58 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Montreal
Subject: IMPROVE RUNNING SPEED
Now that my season is over and that I took a week off. I am getting back at it and will start my off-season training program. I started training about 9 months ago from being a couch potato and have focussed mainly on base training for the first season that I completed with my first Oly. My main goals for the off-season are to maintain/improve my overall fitness, core work and improve my running speed. Respecting my off-season schedule might be difficult at times since we are expecting our second daugther at the end of October. So, realistically, I will run twice a week. I will try to add a third run, but I don't want to count on it every week. One run will be a LSD of about 90 minutes. The other one will be anywhere between 45 and 60 minutes. It is this second run that I need help to structure. Should I just run at a higher pace for the duration of the run, or should I do intervals. What will be more effective to increase my speed?

2005-09-26 9:12 AM
in reply to: #253377

User image

Elite
Austin, TX
Gold member
Subject: RE: IMPROVE RUNNING SPEED
Take my free advice for what it's worth:

I'd suggest doing intervals during that 45-60 minute run if you're only going to able to do 2 runs. Even better would be to add that 3rd run and make it speed work on the track. Keep the 90 minute run as an LSD. The 45-60 minute run you could run at a faster pace, a little slower than 10k pace. The track work could be intervals, things like Yasso 800's, etc, or even throw in some hill work once every couple of weeks for strength.
2005-09-26 9:17 AM

User image

Expert
Wye Mills, MD

I would classify speed work into four categories - intervals, fartleks, tempo runs, and hill repeats.  Alternate between the four, so it stays interesting.

2005-09-26 9:21 AM
in reply to: #253398