General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Trail Running...yuck running Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-11-02 7:55 AM

New user

Erie, Pa/Pittsburgh, PA
Subject: Trail Running...yuck running
Hello All...

I am new to the sport of triathalons, but i am not new to sports. I have swam competitvely for the past 15 years and now that I am out of school I am looking on to better things. I am an outdoors person who loves hiking and climbing. I was wondering what you guys think of trial running. The ground is soft and the trails are long. Plus it adds some scenery to the run. Only problem is winter is coming up, and in Erie, PA that means no outdoor running.

My problem is however, i HATE running. I am a bigger girl, by no means fat, but tall and broad from swimming, and have a hard time doing more than 2 miles. I haven't ran in months and I was looking for some start up points. I currently walk my dog everyday for atleast 30-40 minutes and I try to do about 10 minutes of jogging in the middle of that 30 minutes. I am worried about shinsplints and distance.

Help!

Tara

2005-11-02 8:05 AM
in reply to: #276260

User image

Extreme Veteran
New Haven, CT
Subject: RE: Trail Running...yuck running
As a fellow "broad" woman, I have to emphasize the importance of good shoes - you'll want to be in the motion control or stability category. Go to a real running store, preferably with a pair of worn-out shoes. For the running program, coolrunning has the couch-to-5K, which a lot of people like. You'd prbably start somewhere in the middle.
2005-11-02 8:33 AM

User image

Master
Minnesota
I love trail running also...it's easier on the shins and more challenging to the ankles. It's good to do periods of running with periods of walking in between when first starting to run...try to do an extra 5-10 min of running while you're walking the dog...and then add from there.
2005-11-02 8:41 AM

User image

Pro
Pittsburgh, my heart is in Glasgow
swimskaz - 2005-11-02 8:55 AM