Huntsville, Texas
United States
Roger Soler's Sports
Total Time = 00m
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = 25-29
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

I actually got the best nights sleep I have ever gotten before a race. Woke up, had a bagel with PB and an Amino Vital and headed out the door with Aaron. I would be lying if I said I wasnt nervous, because I was a wee bit freaked out about the long week ahead followed by finals.
Event warmup:

Did not really warm up, just got a little food and a cup of coffee and walked around checking out the start area and trying to stay warm.
Run
  • 00m
  • 50 miles
  •  min/mile
Comments:

Yeah...keep reading :) So I meet up with some runners I know at the start, a couple of guys that have don WS100, one of them has even done the grand slam. I was really nervous, and then it started and I was finally calming down. I started off slow, because I have never done 50 miles before...40 is my distance record as of yet. The aid stations were so fully stocked I can see how runners gain weight at this race. I would love tell you more about the run, but it was over fast...here is why: About 8 miles into the race, I was running with the overall 3rd place female and we were running a comfortable pace. I know it was only a little over an hour into the race, but I was amazed at how good I felt. Running the trails is so much easier than cement, and I was keeping a conservative pace that felt like I could keep all day. My goal time was 8 hours, and I was thinking at this point that I could do sub 8 if I was still feeling this good halfway through. Then, WHAM!!! Murhpys Law shows up. You know what I am talking about, prepare for every conceivable mis-hap and the one thing you never think will happen does happen. I was running on a relatively flat stretch on the trail and there was a lot of leaf litter. Appearantly, a clever little tree root was hiding under some leafs and I caught it with my left foot, rolled my ankle like it was made from silly putty,