Freedom Board, Inc.
40F / 4C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 53m 22s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = 46-55
Age Group Rank = 1/2
Pre-race routine:

Woke up at 5:30. Ate raspberries, Greek Yogurt, and Kashi. Drank a little water. Drove the 125 miles up to just south of Concordia where the race began.

I felt like a total noob to trail running. I asked where the porta pottys were, and I swear he said, "Down the hill on the left." I couldn't find them because I'm looking for regular outhouses. I had to ask again. The RD pointed across the street from where we were standing, to a gully with two small tents. I must have looked incredulous because he said, "We have geriatric commodes in the tents. They are unisex." Okay. I'm from Oregon, I can handle this. I go to the tent, step through, zip it up, and there is a bucket (!!!) sitting under the geriatric commode seat and a roll of toilet paper on the grass.

Meanwhile, I'm trying to get this done with some dignity, and the wind is whipping the tent around and I see the stake at my feet slowly rising out of the ground with each gust. I'm just hoping to finish before the whole thing goes flying out of the ground. I think of my fellow racers, and as I unzip the tent and step out, I reach down and push the stake back down firmly in the ground.

(Two hours later when I finished the race, indeed, the other tent had blown out of the ground, and the commode and bucket were just sitting in the gully for all to see.)

Event warmup:

Sat in my car with the heater on. At about 15 minutes before the race was to start, I got out of the car and tried to find shelter from the wind. It was freezing up on that hill, even with 40 degrees. Winds were out of the south at 15-20 mph, and it was overcast, so we were all shivering. I had on two pairs of gloves and two ear warmers. Freezing.
Run
  • 1h 53m 22s
  • 9.32 miles
  • 12m 10s  min/mile
Comments: