Perimeter Bicycling Association of America, Inc
65F / 18C
Overcast
Total Time = 6h 01m 8s
Overall Rank = 863/3169
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Got up at about 3:30 and ate some oatmeal I made the the hotel room. Got all geared up and my friend and I drove down to the start line. Got to the start line about 4:50 AM. Kept warm until the start and just chatted with a few people from around the area. I had organized a team of about 100 people from my work (Intel) to participate in any of the 4 different length rides offered at El Tour. Most of us signed up for the big dog, 111 miles.
Bike
  • 5h 59m 58s
  • 111 miles
  • 18.50 mile/hr
Comments:

This was my first century ride. I had been training primarily for the Soma Half Iron tri for the past several months, so biking took a back seat to swimming. I had only gotten up to 65 miles in training and that proved to be a bit of a problem. I was going to ride this the entire way with my friend from work, but we got seperated not long after the first wash crossing. (Marachi band was awesome, BTW) I ended up riding alone for a very long way. I just couldn't seem to find a pack of riders that were similar to my speed. I ended up riding along with several of my fellow Intel employees. After the second river crossing, I was on the steep climb and at the top a lady was trying to get somebody to take a can of Coke from here. I snagged that thing and stuck it in my jersey pocket for later. At mile 65, my left hamstrings cramped up hard. I was really worried. I got off the bike and dug out my endurolytes and took a few of those. My hamstring settled down after a bit and I kept on trucking. I got another cramp about mile 85 and it again cleared up after a few minutes. Finally I was on the final 25 miles of the ride on Silverbell...the worst road imaginable. Uphill (gradually), into the wind and on rough roads. I couldn't wait for that to be over. I really wanted to get my gold medal, but it was going to be close