General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Deconstructing LT with race numbers Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-12-06 3:21 PM

User image

Expert
Scottsdale, AZ
Subject: Deconstructing LT with race numbers

I'm brand new to training with LT and heart rate so apologies if this is elementary knowledge.  I'm curious as to how my HR over the course of my half mary Sunday correlates with my LT test from a couple weeks ago. 

LT is broken down in my training log but came out at 165.  The test was done on tired training legs but I felt I ran the test as indicated, finishing completely spent.  Ran the race on RPE and here's a basic rundown of my HR trend.

5k average was 154

At the 4 mile mark I broke into the 160s with a 163 avg over the next 5k.  From 10k to finish I averaged 164 with a short fall off around mile 11 down around 159-160. 

So, what can I learn from this?  I started a bit slow due to the congestion which explains the first 5k.  More interesting to me is the ability to maintain a 163 overall avg on a 165 LT but like I said, I'm new to all this.  Is it normal to run so close to LT due to race adrenalin coupled with a taper or as my LT test not the most accurate?  I went into it thinking I would see around a 156 average.

2011-12-06 3:34 PM
in reply to: #3928631

User image

Master
Columbia, TN
Subject: RE: Deconstructing LT with race numbers

You can't really learn too much from this.

The reason is that HR will vary dramatically under various conditions.  For instance if I have any food in my stomach when I work out my HR is about 8bpm higher at a given pace than when I'm empty.

Caffeine beforehand? 10bpm difference.

Hot weather? 15bpm difference.