General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Am I ready? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2006-05-02 9:22 PM

User image

Papillion, Nebraska
Subject: Am I ready?
As of now, I can run 5k in under 20 minutes, I can swim 500 yards in under 10 minutes, and I probably bike relatively fast. My question is this...how much will those times differ when I have to combine all three in one triathlon? Note, I have never done a triathlon before. Thank you very much for any insight you can offer!

2006-05-02 10:00 PM
in reply to: #413008

User image

Expert
Malvern, England
Subject: RE: Am I ready?
You are never going to really know until you try one - so commit yourself to a sprint distance one by entering it.
  • .and don't forget to practice a few "bricks" (most useful bike followed straight by run) and that may even answer your own question!

• Have fun. Just do it
    2006-05-02 10:08 PM
    in reply to: #413040

User image

Papillion, Nebraska
    I've heard this term "brick" as of recent. What exactly does it entail?
    2006-05-02 10:31 PM
    in reply to: #413047

User image

Expert
    Malvern, England
    A brick is just a workout where one of the three disciplines of triathlon is followed directly by the other (most useful in triathlon order which is normally swim, bike, run). The most common brick people do is the bike to run. Set up your running shoes/ gear at home or wherever you start your ride, then go out for your bike ride and immediately you come back go straight out for a short run (I have been told timewise about 4 to 1 ratio is good for this so if you bike 40minutes, run 10).
    The idea is for you to get used to what it feels like when you make a transition. Running straight after you get off the bike can take some getting used to - the first time my legs felt like lead but it usually goes away after some minutes gently running.

Jackie
    2006-05-03 9:10 AM
    in reply to: #413061

User image

Papillion, Nebraska