General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Where to start? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-01-01 11:36 PM

Subject: Where to start?

Hi all,

I am new to triathlons, but not new to the idea/concept of being and living a healthier more active lifestyle... at half my current weight.

I have a goal to complete my first Tri no later than November 2012 and as I am very excited I am also scared. I know it will be a lot of hard work, sacrifice and determination, but in the end I will be a better person both in mind and body.

so here is where I need a little help... where/how do I start?

First off I am a 30 year old female, 5'6" in height and weighing 238 lbs... and it ain't all muscle either, lol.

My theory is the following:

I have a very weak ankle from a sports injury a few years ago that rolls very easily and my opposing knee gets inflamed from an old highschool strain on my meniscus. With this in mind, and the fact that I have thunder thighs, I have decided on focusing these first couple months solely on swimming and cycling. Once I have shed a few pounds and built up my core and stabilizer muscles I plan on breaking into the running. I will be doing some walking and hiking, but more for leisure than training.

I have a pool at home and will focus primarily on swimming & calisthenics for January. Once I get a bike I will cycle to the swim club to swim 2-3 times a week and refine my technique. I also live on an island, so I will also do 1 mile beach swims once a week.

As far as diet I plan on eating mostly steamed & grilled foods with portions of equal lean protein, complex carb and fruits/veggies. I will allow myself 1 cheat meal per week as fats will be very limited in my diet. I will try and eat 5 or 6 small meals a day including a protein shake post work-outs in the AM. Water consumption will be 4-5 liters per day.

Well, that's about all I really have for right now. Your tips and advice would be greatly appreciated

2012-01-02 7:46 AM