General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How should I train for Oly and Half Marathon? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-02-04 10:59 AM

User image

Veteran
Subject: How should I train for Oly and Half Marathon?

Hi,

Can you recommend any training plan for me.   I would like to do a half marathon in March or April and a few  Oly triathlons in the summer or even in September. I finished my first Oly tri last June.

Since running is my weakest sport I decided to concentrate on running now. In November I started training for a half marathon. I was planning to do one on February 25, but I had problems with my ankles and also a back muscle spasm so I have not done much in the last three weeks.

I feel injury free now , but I'm not sure what to do.   I'm looking for a training plan with two days off if it's possible. My body does not really recover quickly. I found that with two days off a week I train harder and my performance is much better.  Also I often cannot sleep and I need an extra day a week just to catch up on sleep.

As soon I get over a cold I will start following a half=marathon training plan with three runs a week. One long run, one tempo run and a speed work. If I feel rested I can always do an extra run a week.I also swim once a week, take a spin class once a week, lift and do balance/core excesizes three times a week. 

Since biking is my strongest sport I do not worry about it for now, but it would be nice to do a 50 or 100 -mile bike ride in the spring. I would also have to start training for it.

Should I change my routine now or should I finish my half marathon and then start training for my tris? Do you have any suggestions? I generally build endurance quickly, but speed is my problem. On my long slow runs, I often feel like I can go forever. Often planned 5-6 mile runs became 8-10 mile runs , just because I felt good.