General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim times, stretching, and other silly newbie swim questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-02-09 9:49 AM

User image

Veteran
Omaha, NE
Subject: Swim times, stretching, and other silly newbie swim questions

Looking to get some swim questions answered, as I'm really new to swimming as a sport.  Thanks for your help, and sorry if it's too long!!

1.) How do I figure swim times, and how often should I check this as a measure of my improvement? Right now, I don't time individual 100's, 200's, etc, I just time my entire time in the water, breaks, moving the rope, etc included.  I figure that when I swim in a race, I won't be taking breaks, so it's better just to include it all.  My times seem really slow, right now I'm ok with that, but just curious as to how everyone else times their distance?  Oh, and I know about the big clock, but the one time I tried using it, I was so focused on proper form and counting laps that it was hard to keep track of what time I started, without having to start at the top and take longer breaks than I wanted!

2.) Are you supposed to stretch after swimming?  I never do, except for about 2 minutes in the water after I'm done swimming.

3.) When I speed up, breathe on my non-dominant side, or bilateral breathe, I tend to swallow water.  Is there an easy way to fix this?

4.)  I currently swim 3x a week, but thinking I should swim more, is it better to add a little distance each day, or add another day, or both?