General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Dumb Swim Question of the Day Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-02-13 9:05 AM

Malvern, PA
Subject: Dumb Swim Question of the Day

I was at the Y last night and working on my swim. 

I know I need to practice, my 100m times are about 2:30.

Anyway I know my kick really sucks, when I try a kickboard it can take me over 1 minute to get across the 25m pool.

Is it worthwhile to work on my kick or just stick with improving my arms/form?

p.s. when at the pool yesterday I saw a dude who was way faster than me, I chatted him up and he is a triathlete and he agreed to eyeball my form....he said it looked ok and nothing obviously "wrong" with it.

2012-02-13 9:24 AM
in reply to: #4044213

User image

Veteran
Chicago
Subject: RE: Dumb Swim Question of the Day

I'm not a pro, or a coach.....so that being said.

I've heard people talk about when doing long distance swimming, it should be your upper body doing the work.  Now for me, I've just started working on my 2 beat kick this past month, which means I'm pretty much just using my legs for body position in the water.....and wouldn't you know....I'm getting quite a bit quicker.

So I think you would best be served working on your overall form and technique.  Don't waste precious training time working on your kick.  YMMV

2012-02-13 9:25 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Olathe, KS

Yeah, kicking with a board, sans fins, can take forever.

It's worth doing a few kick sets with a board but it shouldn't be the focus of your swim workouts. With triathlon swimming my main goal is to 1) make sure my feet and legs aren't dragging. Keep them near the surface of the water with short small kicks. And 2) Save leg strength/energy for the bike and run.  This means just doing enough to keep your legs at the surface.