General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Sprint for first-timer around NYC? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-03-05 12:02 AM

User image

New user

New York
Subject: Sprint for first-timer around NYC?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum and triathlon, and am looking for a first sprint to register around the New York City area for the summer. I just started learning to swim, so either in-door or calm water would be best. I've done a couple of marathons, and really enjoy trail running, so scenic races would be a great plus as well. 

Thanks in advance for any suggestion. Look forward to becoming a triathlete.

2012-03-05 8:31 AM
in reply to: #4080230

User image

Champion
Brooklyn, NY
Subject: RE: Sprint for first-timer around NYC?
Welcome to the NY forum and to the sport!
Here are a few ideas:
Check to see if Jackrabbit Sports is still running their indoor triathlon series. It’s not exactly comparable to an outdoor race, but it’s a fun event and a good pre-season gauge of your fitness level.

The Flat as a Pancake Sprint in Staten Island is a great beginner’s race. You can reach it via mass transit, the swim is only 30y or so off shore in fairly shallow water, and the bike and run are, you guessed it, flat as a pancake. The race is sometimes in June and sometimes in July.

The Long Island Gold Coast tri has its supporters and it’s a very popular race with beginners. Personally, I find it to be very poorly run and crowded to the point of being unsafe. If you’re not a confident cyclist, I’d stay away.

The New Jersey State Tri near Princeton is fun and it’s in a nice area. It’s also a completely flat course through a park and the bike course has some scenic stretches.

Check out trifind.com. Lots of good info on there.
2012-03-08 6:23 AM

User image

Regular
Bronx