Canadian Triathlon Forum Alberta » Choosing an Open Water for this summer Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2012-03-05 4:31 PM

User image

Subject: Choosing an Open Water for this summer

Hi all.  I am determined to do my first open water this summer.  Was thinking Chapparel as it is right next door to me and August should make it the "warmest" part of summer.  BUT it is the weekend before Strathmore which I am signed up for.  Any opinions on if that is too close?  How do the open water races compare?  (ie: Chestermere, Joes Team?)

I am a beginner with just a Try A Tri and Strathmore under my belt last summer. 

Thanks

2012-03-06 8:24 AM
in reply to: #4081583

User image

Elite
Calgary,AB,Canada
Subject: RE: Choosing an Open Water for this summer
purestone - 2012-03-05 3:31 PM

Hi all.  I am determined to do my first open water this summer.  Was thinking Chapparel as it is right next door to me and August should make it the "warmest" part of summer.  BUT it is the weekend before Strathmore which I am signed up for.  Any opinions on if that is too close?  How do the open water races compare?  (ie: Chestermere, Joes Team?)

I am a beginner with just a Try A Tri and Strathmore under my belt last summer. 

Thanks

Its never too close in my opinion!! Honestly, depends on your fitness levels and what you are trying to get out of it. As a relative beginner, I would do both. Get a wetsuit and get in some swims prior to whichever open water race you sign up for. I've never done chapparral, but i've heard the bike it justs small loops in the cummunity. Chestermere is supposed to be nice. Chinook at Midnapore is close too. But shortest is Olympic. Wasa near cranbrook in June would be warm.

Good luck this year!

2012-03-10 9:15 AM

User image

Regular