General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Rotator Cuff Injury Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-03-06 9:41 AM

Subject: Rotator Cuff Injury
Have had a sore shoulder for the past few weeks, went to the Dr. Today, and he told me it's my rotator cuff.  I'm gonna start some physical therapy next week to get back in shape to swim.  What I want to know is, what is a common mistake with swimming that causes a rotator cuff injury?  I want to fix whatever caused this problem and prevent reinjury as much as possible.  I've been doing triathlons for 3 years now, and haven't had this issue before.

2012-03-06 10:27 AM
in reply to: #4082623

Veteran
Madison, Alabama
Subject: RE: Rotator Cuff Injury
Take this with a grain of salt, but I've had both of mine repaired. I don't think it was anything that you did swimming. You injured it somehow would be my guess. One of mine was from a skiing accident and the other was from pushing pallets on C-17s in the Air Force...

Kevin
2012-03-06 11:01 AM

User image

Master
Columbia, TN

Did your Dr. bother telling you which of the 4 rotator cuff tendons you injured?

I have torn both of my supraspinatus tendons (the most common).  But they aren't very actively used by swimming.  I was still swimming with both of them torn, one of them nearly completely torn, with no real issues.  The recovery was a little sore at times, but would get better as I swam and warmed up.

Then I completely tore my right one through and couldn't lift my arm.  I was able to return to swimming about 3 months post-op even though they didn't think I would be able to...but it's not really stressed by swimming.

So, if you have hurt your supraspinatus, probably not a problem with swimming.  If it's another one, just tell me which one it is.

2012-03-06 11:15 AM

User image

Expert