General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wichita Riders Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-03-12 3:05 PM

User image

Wichita
Subject: Wichita Riders
New to riding and was wondering what are some good places to ride without a lot of traffic.  I don't mind leaving from my house (29th and Ridge) on weekend mornings when everyone is asleep but don't really want to do that after work.  I have gone to the coliseum and rode up broadway.  Anybody else have any good routes or places to start from.

2012-03-12 9:25 PM
in reply to: #4092664

Subject: RE: Wichita Riders

I'm pretty new to biking myself. I'll ride around Sedgwick County Park sometimes, it's about a 4 mile loop if you ride on the outside of the park. I've seen people bike west out on 21st towards Cheney lake. Not sure how busy it is though.

Last year the Kansas River Valley Triathlon Club would ride starting at the NW YMCA and head out west I believe. Not sure if they will be planning on doing that again. You could also call some of the local bike shops and see what they have to say. I've really liked the people at Heartland Bicycle in old town.

2012-03-13 6:54 AM
in reply to: #4093238

Veteran
Madison, Alabama
I currently live in Iraq, but lived in Wichita for two years prior to me coming over here. When I was training for the KS 70.3, I would ride on the East side (I live right outside of Andover). I would do one large loop going out Greenwich. I lived very close, so I'd just ride out, but I've noticed cars with bike racks parked at either Target or World Market at 21st and K96. Park there and just ride North until you get tired...

Also, would ride 21st out toward Augusta area...

Westsiders, I don't know as I didn't live over there.
2012-03-13 1:20 PM
in reply to: #4093238

User image

Wichita