General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What have you learned? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-03-22 11:45 AM

User image

Expert
Ann Arbor, MI
Subject: What have you learned?

Training, racing, and everything in between.  What have you learned from running long?

This is my first year running the 50mi and 100mi distances, so I have a lot to learn.  Thus far:

- Trails are soooooo fun to run.  I feel instantly like a kid whenever my feet hit the dirt.  I've rediscovered the sense of adventure that I'd lost recently doing tri's.  And hardly anyone in my area runs trails compared to the paved path, so the woods are like a playground all to myself.

- On long training runs, as in races, I need to start out EASY.

- Fueling for running long is going to be a long slow process of experimentation.

- Hills are the scotch of trail running. 

- Ultra runners, on the whole, are the friendliest endurance athletes I've met in almost 4 years of training.

2012-03-22 10:15 PM
in reply to: #4108399

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: What have you learned?

Race grub at marathons is a distant, distant second to the offerings at trail marathons and ultras!  It's really like an outdoor buffet. 

I'm capable of far more than I attempt on a regular basis.

2012-03-22 10:54 PM

User image

Expert
Waller County, TX

Ditto your points above, especially the comments about fueling and starting slow (talk about discipline).

For me it is the challenge of dealing with the physical and mental aspects that only occur after you've been going 10, 20, 30 hours, whether it is running an ultra or doing any long race.

Unless a person has been there, it is hard to understand.

2012-03-23 9:40 AM

User image

Master
San Antone, Texas