General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Interesting observations from 70.3 medical tent re: sodium Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2012-04-02 2:20 PM

User image

Expert
Houston, TX
Subject: Interesting observations from 70.3 medical tent re: sodium

So, yesterday for the Memorial Hermann Ironman 70.3 Texas race I worked in the medical tent and took care of a lot of dehydrated, hot, tired folks. I work as an ER nurse for Memorial Hermann in our flagship Level 1 hospital and the med tent was captained by one of our physicians and ER managers. I was very surprised by some of the things that I learned and saw that were unexpected.

We had the pleasure of having an Istat machine so just about everyone that came in who we were giving IV fluids to we were able to send a quick set of electrolytes and have results in about a minute or two. These results are what were surprising. In triathlon, especially longer course racing we always hear of hypo or even sometimes hypernatremia being the culprit for a lot of the problems that we have on the course related to cramping, dizziness, etc. Of all of the labs we ran (quite a few, don't have solid numbers yet) I did NOT see one since sodium value outside of the normal range. Not one. I did have a lot of athletes though that complained of symptoms that would make you think "oh, their sodium is probably low."

What I did see were a lot of results showing solid dehydration, acute renal failure, and a few cases of high potassium. I'm not quite sure what to make of these results yet but I will be doing a lot more research for sure.

Information about the day: it was pretty warm, mid 80's, sunny for the most part with some early cloud cover, and a good bit of wind. There is a pretty decent part of the run course that has zero shade.