General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Are you there to finish, or are you there to win? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2012-04-12 9:07 AM
in reply to: #4143346

User image

Ann Arbor
Subject: RE: Are you there to finish, or are you there to win?

I don't race to win or loose. I race to conquer fear and to stand on the precipice before the race and to give it my all. I race because every moment during the race I have to battle that part of me that wants to quit. That's why I race.

I try not to pay too much attention to the place I get... but frankly, if I don't win my AG (Excepting a semi-sponsored person showing up in my AG), I feel like I failed in my training, even if I didn't in my racing.  I guess I'm not a beginner any more, though. 

2012-04-12 9:30 AM

Regular
Toronto, Ontario

I'm there to beat my PR.

I am attempting my first oly distance this summer so for my first race, I'll be there to finish.

2012-04-12 9:41 AM

User image

Pro
Twin Cities

Are you asking what I'm doing, or my thoughts on what you are?

If it's what I think about your plans, then it sounds awesome. What ever brings you happiness and a sense of fulfillment.

If you're asking if I am there "to finish or to win," I suppose the answer is neither/somewhere in between.

Finishing isn't a big deal to me. It's not a challenge. But I am also probably not going to win (unless it's a small race :p). I'm there to go as hard as I can given whatever training I have under my belt (<--which varies wildly). Where ever that puts me in the standings, that's where it puts me.

2012-04-12 10:52 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Central Iowa

If I were just there "to win," well that's so unlikely there wouldn't be much point in signing up.

I'm out there to compete. I'm racing against the other entrants in my age group, category, whatever. I want to see how I stand against them. I want to keep getting better.