General Discussion Triathlon Talk » When do you start swimming in lake Michigan Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2012-07-17 9:40 PM
in reply to: #4164219

Subject: RE: When do you start swimming in lake Michigan

Hey there:

I'm new to this, but I'm about to move to Chicago, and I'm training for my first triathlon in September (though the reports of the testicle-eating fish have me reconsidering). Since I guess this is the thread, can anyone point me to info on where to swim / train in Lake Michigan. It sounds (from the above) like the Ohio St. bridge has bouys that mark distances . . . is it pretty self-explanatory? Are there other beaches that have distances marked off like that?

Thanks so much for the help!

- Thomas

2012-07-18 9:35 AM
in reply to: #4317100

User image

Chicago
twf - 2012-07-17 9:40 PM

Hey there:

I'm new to this, but I'm about to move to Chicago, and I'm training for my first triathlon in September (though the reports of the testicle-eating fish have me reconsidering). Since I guess this is the thread, can anyone point me to info on where to swim / train in Lake Michigan. It sounds (from the above) like the Ohio St. bridge has bouys that mark distances . . . is it pretty self-explanatory? Are there other beaches that have distances marked off like that?

- Thomas

That's the best spot by far that I know of.  I'm not aware of any other spots that have ropes and buoys and people to swim with and you can stop and touch the ground at any point if you need to rest or fix your goggles or something like that.  Plus it's protected by a seawall which helps keep the waves low.  There may be other spots, but I'm not aware of them.