General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Gear shifting problems after installing new wheel/cassette Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-02 10:01 AM

Subject: Gear shifting problems after installing new wheel/cassette

I'm really new to triathlon, but wanted to learn everything I could so I could ride and work on my bike. With that said, I recently installed a new wheel set (SRAM S60) and cassette (SRAM PG1070 11-28T) on my bike. After installing though the gears are shifting hard and making a bunch of noise (like the chain is lose) but only in some of the gears. The chain is also now rubbing on the front derailleur guide in the highest and lowest gear and sometimes slips off when shifting into the big gear.

The bike is really brand new with less than 300 miles on it. Before installing the new wheel set I was riding on a Shimano 105 cassette on the old wheel set. I've tried to adjust the cable tension on the rear derailleur with limited luck.

Does anyone have any suggestions or web resources I could read up on to correct my problem? Any help is very much appreciated.

Signed frustrated new triathlete in training

2012-05-02 10:08 AM
in reply to: #4185924

User image

Subject: RE: Gear shifting problems after installing new wheel/cassette
Take it to the LBS with both wheels and ask the same thing.

My complete and utter guess without seeing the wheels in question is you've got two things going on

Cable stretch - you're right at the point (300ish miles) where you need to tighten up both front and rear dérailleurs which is making number two even more pronounced.

One of your wheels has the bazillionth of an inch spaces between the cogs and the wheel. That will throw your entire chain setup in the trash as soon as you change wheels. Figure out which one has or doesn't have the spacer and make the other one the same.

2012-05-02 11:26 AM

User image

Regular
So Cal