General Discussion Triathlon Talk » VFFs and long distance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-09 12:32 PM

User image

Expert
Wendell, NC
Subject: VFFs and long distance
Been running in VFFs for over a year now and really like them on runs up to about 13 miles.  After that, my feet start to ache and can be sore for a couple of days.  I'm just getting into regular 13+ runs and was wondering if anyone runs long distance in VFFs.  Will my feet eventually toughen up or do I need to go w/ a more supportive shoe?

2012-05-09 12:38 PM
in reply to: #4200018

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA
Subject: RE: VFFs and long distance
I know people who have worn them for marathons (or even run barefoot).  But if your feet are sore at 13 miles, I'm guessing they are not for you right now.  Either up your distance much more gradually, or consider shoes (for longer runs, at least).
2012-05-09 1:16 PM

User image

Veteran
Salt Lake City
Which VFF are you wearing?  Some have thicker padding that may help...
2012-05-09 1:21 PM

User image

DC
Just wondering: Do you have other shoes (w/regular padding) that you use? If so, why bother doing long runs in VFF? 
2012-05-09 2:30 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Urbana, MD

I did a half marathon in regular shoes at the weekend and my feet were sore after 13 miles. It's not the shoes, it's the distance. I assume if you keep training it gets better. YMMV.

2012-05-09 4:02 PM

User image

Pewaukee, WI
I do all my running in VFFs, marathons, HIM, IM, everything, and I love them. I initially switched to them due to bad shin splints in regular shoes. The only long distance race I did in another shoe (New Balance Minimus Trail) was a 50K trail race, I chose the Minimus over the VFFs for traction but the concept is the same as VFFs.