General Discussion Triathlon Talk » how fast do you lose running skills? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-10 2:41 PM

User image

Regular
Washington, DC
Subject: how fast do you lose running skills?

As background, I am a long-time runner just now getting into triathlon. I've been running between 55-70 mpw consistently for two years now, and my running pace has improved considerably. I ran my first marathon in 2009 in 4:33, and this spring, I ran a marathon very conservatively on a hot day in 4:04. I am really happy with how my run has progressed, and I was hopeful that with continued 70-mile weeks, I could maybe BQ in a few years.

About a month ago, I started experiencing heel pain while running. I ended up backing off of mileage a bit, and even taking about a week and a half off. I went to the podiatrist yesterday and was diagnosed with a heel spur and plantar fasciitis. I've been ordered not to run until I return to the doctor next week.

I know rest is required to heal. And thank goodness, I'm not registered for a race until August, and I'm cleared to swim and bike, so at least I can do something. But I'm absolutely petrified of having to start completely over with my run. The longest I've ever taken off is two weeks, when I had the swine flu, and I didn't lose too much. At what point does one completely lose all run fitness? I've worked so hard over the past few years to get my paces down, and I'm really scared of having to start completely over.

2012-05-10 2:54 PM
in reply to: #4202948

User image

Veteran
the Sipp
Subject: RE: how fast do you lose running skills?
I'm not a long-time runner like you, but I just can't see how a couple weeks off is gonna cause you to lose much run-fitness, if any at all; unless your legs fall off, literally. Cool
2012-05-10 2:57 PM

User image

Regular
Washington, DC