General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help me swim faster! Swim critique video Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2012-05-21 8:21 AM

User image

Veteran
Perth, Australia
Subject: Help me swim faster! Swim critique video
Hi All

I've been asking for help with my swimming for a couple months and I finally have a swim video to show how slow I am! My fastest 100m has been 2:05 and over 500m I'm closer to 2:12 - 2:13/100m.

Any feedback is welcome!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfgqjX8n9tg&feature=youtu.be

2012-05-21 9:02 AM
in reply to: #4220052

User image

Expert
Subject: RE: Help me swim faster! Swim critique video

I'll play along here.  

All together your swim does not look horrible.  A few things I notice that could help a bit are the following:

1. When you breath to the right side you seem to loop UP and not parallel with the water.  Don't over rotate when breathing.

2. When both of your hands enter the water you are to close to your center line and head.  Enter straight out in front of your shoulder.  Think full straight arm extension.  

3. Of course pay closer attention to you pull from the time your hands enter the water.  Fingertips down to the bottom of the pool and get your elbows up.  

Otherwise I think it's time if your not already doing so...to start working harder in the pool.  Pull together some challenging swim sets, establish your base 100 time for say a set of 10 X 100's and get at it.  Give your self about 15-20s rest and challenge yourself in the water 3-5 times a week.  

Good luck.  

2012-05-21 9:17 AM

User image

Regular
Hamilton, IL
I'm in no position to offer much here, because I'm so slow myself. Two things I notice right off the bat, but someone may tell you otherwise (cause I'm no expert)

1. Head down.
2. are you using a big scissor kick to rotate you for your breath? hard to tell, but something with a drag looks like it's happening there, maybe a flexed foot or something.
2012-05-21 9:42 AM