General Discussion Triathlon Talk » stretching question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-06-15 4:53 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Kennesaw, GA
Subject: stretching question
I read an article last night about how stretching can be harmful to you. I know not to stretch a cold muscle, not to bounce and a few other no, no’s to avoid injury due to stretching. But this article more or less made it sound like stretching loosens your muscles which makes you more injury prone, and that the good feeling you get from stretching comes from little tears in the muscle that the body responds to and the response to the tear is why it feels good. This is a little contrary to what I’ve always understood about stretching. I’m no expert about stretches, is there anyone who knows if this is correct?

Here is what I read http://www.usnews.com/usnews/issue/040621/health/21ligament.htm

2004-06-15 6:01 PM
in reply to: #31598

Regular
Colorado
Subject: RE: stretching question
Hmmm, very interesting article. I hadn't heard that theory before, but have come to a similar conclusion over the years. I wouldn't say that "stretching is bad" at all, but I used to be extremely flexible, and have injured myself several times doing yoga! Now I rely on stretching AFTER my workouts, particularly runs or bikes. Stretching my hams and doing basically light leg/back stretching keeps me feeling good. If I skip the stretches my back starts to hurt. But I don't stretch prior to working out, or to try to specifically improve my flexibility. Right now I just want to stay pain free, and I do believe for me that increasing flexibility tends to increase my injuries.
2004-06-15 7:43 PM

User image

Elite Veteran
northern Illinois