General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » newbie to tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-06-15 5:13 PM

Saskatoon
Subject: newbie to tri
Good afternoon all.

My name is Heather, aka Dr. Bones, and I am a newbie to the sport, and finding that I am addicted. I did a duathalon in April, and enrolled in a program for women called Y-not-try-a-tri, and since that time, I did a team triathalon, and a small triathalon put on by the Y-not gals. I am registered for a sprint distance tri in another city at the end of June, as well as two 10 k runs, and a relay team for the Regina Marathon in September. Yup, busy summer, but I finally got off of the couch, and got moving after I bought a treadmill in January. I am looking forward to setting a few more goals for myself, including a bigger tri next year, and doing a few more runs. If everything goes okay, maybe a 1/2 marathon???? Who knows where the road may take me......

A bit of history- I started doing something this year, as I found that as an asthmatic, my condition was getting worse, and I was more dependant on meds to help me through the day. I bought a treadmill, and started on a walk/run program, focussing on time to help me start to condition my cardiovascular system. I also learned to swim! Now, I have noticed that I only take my control meds, but not my emergency meds, as I don't really need them much anymore!(alt ;-) (although I still carry them with me, just in case...) I was also overweight, and 170 pounds for 5'3"- I am now down almost two sizes to a size 10, but not much change on the scale. I find that odd, but look quite a bit slimmer than the winter's pictures. Hopefully the weight loss will start to happen soon- has anyone else experienced that? Loss of size before weight?