General Discussion Race Reports! » Rotary Pineapple Man™ Triathlon Sprint Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Rotary Pineapple Man™ Triathlon Sprint - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Melbourne Beach, Florida
United States
rotarypineappleman.org
84F / 29C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 27m 24s
Overall Rank = 72/273
Age Group = 35-39
Age Group Rank = 6/12
Pre-race routine:

Up @ 4:30, breakfast of Eggy-McWinfough, water, Poweraid performance drink. Left the house at 5:35 am, arrived at the race course @ 6:00.
Event warmup:

I got out in the water and did some pre-race swimming. Since I'm still learning the sport I don't really know what exactly I'm supposed to be doing so there wasn't much to report.
Swim
  • 12m 55s
  • 587 yards
  • 02m 12s / 100 yards
Comments:

It was a mass start and I was right up front, for just a little bit. I'm not the strongest swimmer so lots of swimmers passed me pretty quickly. All I did was concentrate on spotting the bouys and breathing. I rounded the first bouy pretty good and kept going. I had the stamina to keep swimming even when I got bumped from the side and behind. After making the second bouy, I rounded and headed for the pier. On the last leg of the swim I finally got my breathing under control and was able to swim very comfortably.
What would you do differently?:

Relax a bit more and get my breathing under control. More open water swimming would help too.
Transition 1
  • 01m 6s
Comments:

I had a pretty good transition. Running down the pier I was able to remove my ear plugs, goggles and swim cap. I got my socks on and then my bike shoes. Sweat band, shades and helmet. Grabbed my bike and I was off.

Not much. I liked my transition and will probably do it like this again.
Bike
  • 45m 6s
  • 15 miles
  • 19.95 mile/hr
Comments: