United States
Grandman Triathlon
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 08m 10s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = Athena
Age Group Rank = 8/9
Pre-race routine:

Ate instant oatmeal and a bagel. Had to park a little over a mile away. Friend and I took our bags and rode our bikes down to the race to set up transition.
Event warmup:

Swam about 100 yds.
Swim
  • 17m 55s
  • 587 yards
  • 03m 03s / 100 yards
Comments:

This was the first year they've tried the swim start like this. I've never done this race before, so I have nothing to compare it to. Swim course was fun, I enjoyed it.
What would you do differently?:

Train for this race by water jogging in the pool.
Transition 1
  • 03m 38s
Comments:

It was a little bit of a run from the swim area to transition...not bad. I don't really get in much of a hurry, I sit down, put my socks on, etc. But I saw one girl sitting down going through her bag in transition stop to put lipstick on. (Maybe it had SPF in it?) After seeing my race photos, I wish I had done that too! LOL
Bike
  • 1h 05m 49s
  • 18 miles
  • 16.41 mile/hr
Comments:

Had sooo much fun riding that course. The other racers were so friendly, and so were the volunteers and law enforcement helping with traffic.

Get some engine work done on my bike!
Transition 2
  • 01m 59s
Run
  • 38m 51s
  • 3.1 miles
  • 12m 32s  min/mile
Comments:

Very pleasant run. As usual, I just kind of jogged along and enjoyed myself. Toward the end, met a guy running along about the same pace and we chatted for the last mile. Most of the course was shady with a nice breeze coming off the water.

I guess I should start trying to run faster and stop visiting with everyone. I have so much fun though.
Post race
Warm down:

When I crossed the finish line (which was lined with spectators cheering us on), a volunteer put a water bottle in my hand that said "Grandman Finisher" and it was full of water. I was so thankful! Walked around and sipped on that.

What limited your ability to perform faster:

ME!