General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » I have no bike, am a new swimmer, and am doing a haf Ironman in 3 weeks Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-07-12 4:29 PM

User image

Chicago, IL
Subject: I have no bike, am a new swimmer, and am doing a haf Ironman in 3 weeks
I know this is probably going to get some "WTF" responses. I've always been active, averaging 25-50 running miles/week, depending on the time of year for the past several years. I also ran XC and T&F throughout high school and college. This year I decided to redid ate myself to some form of training. Being a professional musician, my lifestyle has worked against healthy living and I wanted to change that. The healthy habits I developed from running in college are what saved me from completely destroying my body on tour during the first few years after college.I started doing CrossFit in January and found a great community and coaches to work with. I totally revamped my diet in February to cut out processed foods, sugars, white flours etc. I had been working out 6x week the first several months of the year. I've really stepped up for tri training over the past month or two though and am progressing nicely. Swimming is new to me, but I've been able to go 1200m in open water continuously after some scary first days of lap swimming (I couldn't do 100m my first day). My problem: I'm a starving artist and this stuff is expensive! Have a wetsuit on loan for the season, so that is one hurdle. I've been borrowing bikes though, and it's time for me to purchase one. $500-$600 is my max. I've been searching online and haven't found the right bike yet. A friend made an incredible offer to me of a Javelin tri bike with everything ready to go for $950, but that is too steep for my pockets. Currently I am testing out a friend's Cannondale R400. I have no idea what the size is, but it fits me ok. Not perfect, but it works. All the components were recently upgraded to SRAM force. Ne