General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Garmin 310 vs 910 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-07-19 12:26 PM

Subject: Garmin 310 vs 910
I need help.  I have read reviews, talked with friends and tried to watch out at races for what people are using.  I have never used a GPS/heart rate device before.  Always just kept it simple and used a watch, pressed start at the horn and stop when I crossed the line.  I am ready to step up and need/want honest reviews on which product to go with.  I know the 910 is the newest, greatest and suppose to be way more accurate on the swim, but is it worth it?  All feedback greatly appreciated.

2012-07-19 1:37 PM
in reply to: #4320188

User image

Pro
Bellingham, WA
Subject: RE: Garmin 310 vs 910

There are so many GPS options out there now that you really have to ask yourself what is important to you. 

It's like buying a house.  You make a list of the must have features like a garage, 3 bedrooms, etc. Then you find the model that meets your criteria. 

You don't want to pay for stuff you don't need.  For me, I know I have no interest in heart rate monitoring so I cross that off the list.

I like to keep it as simple as possible.  For a while, running was my main focus so I used a Garmin 110.  Just the basics but that's all I needed.  I use the Garmin 910xt now because I do a lot of open water swimming and the pace/distance is excellent for that.  I also like to see my ride profile which includes an elevation chart and elevation gain.  

2012-07-19 2:16 PM

User image

Master
Centennial, CO