Calgary, Alberta
Canada
Rocky Mountain Triathlon Company
Total Time = 5h 43m 48s
Overall Rank = 260/675
Age Group = W35-39
Age Group Rank = 6/47
Pre-race routine:

Up at 4. Stunned that I actually slept. Grabbed some rice cereal and some coconut water. Threw the various bags and goodies in the car and off we went.
Sara drove me to Ghost Lake. Got there around 6. Found the porta-potties. Dropped off my gear. Was angered to discover that someone broke the speedometer off my bike and just stuffed it in my bento bag. Thank goodness I rely mostly on my Garmin.
Just fought back the nerves and the excitement. I have never been part of something this big before.

This is the race I have been working towards for 2 years and it was a big deal.

Event warmup:

Stuffed myself into the wetsuit and hopped in the water 10 mins before my wave. Got acclimatized. Water was cool but nice.
Swim
  • 43m 31s
  • 1900 meters
  • 02m 17s / 100 meters
Comments:

Started out ok. Thought I was doing well. Right on someones toes for the long run under the bridge and out. Just tried to stay with the crowd and not panic.
My Garmin says I swam 2100m… adding on a solid 200m may be the reason I'm so slow. NEED to work on sighting!
What would you do differently?:

What can I say… no matter how much I work at this I am not catching on to something. I still can't swim!
This is getting so frustrating… I need to get some help with this and have no idea where to begin.

Transition 1
  • 02m 44s
Comments:

They have a bit of a confusing set-up where you hit the strippers and then grab your T1 bag. You need to find a random spot amongst the chaos to put on your helmet and shoes and race number.
Then you have to stuff your wetsuit and swim gear back into said bag.
At that point you are aloud to go into T1 searching for your bicycle.

I do seem to transition well and made up a minute or so here… not sure I would change anything except the crazy set-up.
Bike
  • 2h 55m 56s
  • 94 kms
  • 32.06 km/hr
Comments: