General Discussion Race Reports! » Memorial Hermann Bridgeland Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Memorial Hermann Bridgeland Triathlon - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Cypress, Texas
United States
Onurleft Event Management, LLC
85F / 29C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 25m 48s
Overall Rank = 539/1178
Age Group = F 35-39
Age Group Rank = 23/82
Pre-race routine:

I'm not a pro triathlete, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express.
Up at 4:00, dressed and headed to the race site. Ate bagel w/cream cheese at 5:15. No Gatorade...hoping to resolve the GI issues I tend to have to deal with every race day.
Event warmup:

Jogged 1 mile...but stopped and stretched with Nik at 1/4 and 1/2.
A very short swim about 30 minutes before our wave went off.
Stretching while waiting for the wave.
Swim
  • 11m 1s
  • 547 yards
  • 02m 01s / 100 yards
Comments:

Got off to a very good start. Was pushing the pace and trying not to get lulled into easing into a comfortable pace, which has been the story of my swimming this season.

First 200 was good, then I had to deal with a zig-zagger who repeatedly whacked me in the head with every stroke near the second buoy. I was trying to stay in a positive mindset and not let little things frustrate me in this race, so I stopped, let her go on, and found some clear water to work with. Nik was on my feet and then actually passed me for a little bit, so I had to make sure to regain lost ground and get back ahead of her.

Had to maneuver through some red and powder blue caps after the turn, but not too bad. Just never regained the early momentum, but still 9th in the AG, so not completely disappointed.
What would you do differently?:

Be more aggressive holding my line, but in the interest of remaining calm, not extremely necessary. Just learn to make up for it on the bike and run.
Transition 1
  • 02m 22s
Comments:

Felt like I was running a half marathon from the swim exit to my bike!