General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Why? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-08-06 8:49 AM

New user
Lapeer
Subject: Why?
I have just completed my first two triathlons; both super sprints but completed them and saw improvement with the second tri. My problem is I do so great when I swim in the pool for training and can swim 1/2 mile to a mile with no problems whatsoever. At both of my tri's I failed miserably in the swim. I don't seem to have any ability to swim more than 50 yards without a problem, almost like I panic. At least on Saturdays when I rounded the bouy I was able to suck it up and concentrate and get the last 100 yards with no problem. Any suggestions? I love doing these but I want to improve.

2012-08-06 9:09 AM
in reply to: #4348625

User image

Veteran
Grand Rapids, MI
Subject: RE: Why?
First - congrats on finishing your first 2 races!!! A couple of thoughts... and by no means, I am not an expert so take them with a grain of salt!

1. Open Water racing is definetly different than pool swimming. Try and get some training swims in open water. It will help you practice sighting and just the feel.

2. I have gone out WAYYYYY too fast in a bunch of races I have done. My strategy for the last couple years is now to start at the back and go very easy and relaxed until the turn around or halfway point. If I'm feeling good, I pick up the pace. I figure I have a whole race to make up if I'm too easy on the first half of a swim! I'm ended up doing back and breast stroke by going out to hard, so I like the alternative (even if I have to swim around folks on the back half).