General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Strategy for a reverse age-group swim start? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-08-17 12:09 PM

User image

Colorado
Subject: Strategy for a reverse age-group swim start?

I'm pretty new at this, I've got my third ever triathlon tomorrow (first olympic distance). So far I've done a pool swim sprint tri and a wave start sprint tri. I'm a pretty good swimmer (expecting to be top 5% overall in the swim, I've been #1 or 2 in my division for the swim in the first two triathlons I've done).

The race I'm doing tomorrow is a new type of start for me. It is a 1500m OWS, with the start in reverse age group order, with women's heats first, then men's. So, being 35 and male, I'll be toward the middle/end of the starts for the race. They are starting everyone with a 5-second gap between each person.

Effectively, since I am a fast swimmer, this means I'll be passing people for the entire 1500m nonstop, without any clean open water to speak of. Any thoughts on a strategy for this? I guess I'm a little worried about ever being able to find a rhythm or pace if I'm constantly coming up on new pairs of kicking feet, but can't settle in behind anyone because I'm moving faster.

Is it a bad idea to just hang to the outside/left (it goes clockwise) and swim a little farther rather than make repeated passing manuevers and try to stay tight on the inside?

2012-08-17 1:16 PM
in reply to: #4368118

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: Strategy for a reverse age-group swim start?

This happened to me in my first race as well, albeit not for the same reason.  The first leg (also CW) it worked pretty well to stay to the outside.  After that, though, even that was no good as the second leg was a mix of people gassing out and going to the outside to the boats (or floating and doing backstroke) and then people still slower than me taking up the more direct routes.