General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » A personal challenge Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-08-31 1:44 AM

Subject: A personal challenge

Hi,

My name is Olly, I'm 29 and I am from, and live in, London.

I am new to the world of triathlon and was motivated to tackle the London Triathlon (Olympic distance) in September, and to raise money for charity, after losing my mum to cancer 2 months ago. I have found tremendous focus through training for such a personal cause and my training regime has helped to keep me sane at this difficult time. I have been writing a blog about the experience which you might like to read http://ollydavytriathlon.blogspot.co.uk/ 

I would be interested to hear others experiences of taking on a physical challenge as a method of coping with and processing grief. 

Thanks.

Olly

2012-08-31 11:31 AM
in reply to: #4389255

User image

Royal(PITA)
West Chester, Ohio
Subject: RE: A personal challenge

Welcome to BT. Ollie.

I lost my father to cancer in my first year racing.  I think of him a lot when I race.

Best of luck to you.

2012-09-02 12:19 AM

User image

Veteran
Tempe, Arizona

Hi Olly,

Welcome to BT!

I'm really sorry to hear about losing your Mum, cancer is a truly horrible disease.  However, what a fantastic thing to do, both for yourself, the memory of your Mum, and for others via the money you fundraise. 

I totally agree with you about the training helping to keep your sanity, as I very nearly lost my own Mum last year.  For the 3 weeks I was in the UK, I either ran or swam nearly every day and I think that it was the only way I kept my wits and sanity about me for my Mum and family.