General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Off-season training for a newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-09-14 11:01 AM

User image

New user

Subject: Off-season training for a newbie

Hey everyone!  I'm new to BT, and a new triathlete in general (just completed my first sprint in July), and I am hooked.  I have always played baseball and football my entire life, so I am taking on triathlon as a new challenge.  I have a decent amount of muscle mass, since weight training has been the foundation of my fitness/training for so long.  However, I still have some bodyfat to shed to make myself lighter for the upcoming race season.  I had never had any formal swimming practice until last May (still no coaching or anything), so obviously swimming is one of my largest weak points.  On top of that, I finally sprung and bought a used road bike (did the sprint tri on an older mountain bike....I know) and also have a stationary indoor trainer to use it with.  Running obviously needs to improve A LOT as well. 

I guess my question to you guys and gals is what should be my approach to this offseason?  I have made the decision to make triahlon part of my lifestyle, and want to give it everything I have (on a small budget, of course).  All aspects need improving, I'm well aware of that, and I also could shed some body fat.  I am just wondering if I should focus on building more of a base?  Increasing mileage? Intervals?  I also would like to keep up with my strength training, focusing more on movements that will benefit me in the s/b/r (lat, chest, single-leg, etc.).

Any opinions/advice is more than welcome!

Thanks everyone! And I'm excited to be part of the community!!

-Derek

2012-09-14 11:11 AM
in reply to: #4411452

User image

Master
Houston
Subject: RE: Off-season training for a newbie

It really depends on where you live, what kind of equipment you have, and what your base is.