General Discussion Triathlon Talk » still trying to learn to swim Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-09-30 5:02 AM

User image

Expert
Tallahassee
Subject: still trying to learn to swim

I NEED HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I started learning to swim this past March, I am now 51 y.o.  When i started I could not swim 10 yards.  I have been taking lessons and can now swim a little.

My backyard pool is 42 feet or 13 yards.  I have swam over 1,000 yards in a workout but with lots of rest periods.  I swim about 5 laps which is 130 yards and rest, I have done up to 15 laps non stop.  I get a quick extra breath at each wall, which is cheating I know.

Yesterday I attempted my 1st OWS.  I DNF and I had a wetsuit on.  My question:  Is there anyway I could be ready for 600 yards by Oct 27?  Am I not swimming hard enough?  Does it just take more time than I giving.  (time per clock and time in months) I try to swim 4 - 5 days per week, somedays it is just 15 minutes and other days it is 45 minutes again not continuous swimming but w/ lots of rest.

My shoulders started cramping and I gave out of breath during the OWS

Right now, I'm ready to sell my bikes, i was so embarrassed yesterday, by not finishing a practice swim, yes I was the only one in my group the dnf!

2012-09-30 5:42 AM
in reply to: #4433629

User image

Regular
Melbourne
Subject: RE: still trying to learn to swim
Have you considered lessons? Learn the proper technique so you can train effectively....
2012-09-30 6:04 AM

User image