General Discussion Triathlon Talk » sunglasses? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-06-24 3:29 PM

New user

College Station, TX
Subject: sunglasses?
I've been training for a little over a month for a sprint in August and I presently don't wear sunglasses when I run or ride. I've basically never worn sunglasses ever, but I'm realizing the need for them now when I get crap in my eyes after every car passes me on my bike rides. What do y'all wear? Do I need to look for some that are polarized? I don't want to spend that much since I'm a teacher and I don't want to put a dent in my huge (yeah right!) bank account. Everything else I've bought for my new hobby has limited my play money so far, but it has all been very well worth the price.
Thanks in advance!

2004-06-24 3:33 PM
in reply to: #33494

User image

Elite Veteran
Roscoe, IL.
Subject: RE: sunglasses?
I can't see without my Rx, so I got a real trick looking pair of Rayban's

Before that I just used whatever was least expensive and good looking out of one of the bike warehouse catalogs like Nashbar or Performance. They sell them with changable lenses for different conditions

2004-06-24 3:40 PM

User image

Elite Veteran
northern Illinois
I just dropped my old glasses off at the optomestrist's this morning. He's going to turn them into sunglasses for me, so I'll have a close-to-accurate prescription AND sunglasses. Of course, the main reason that I got new glasses in the first place is that my very fashion-conscious daughter told me that I looked like Harry Potter in my old glasses. Now I'll look like Harry Potter, wearing sunglasses and a triathlon suit. The mind reels.

Andrea
2004-06-24 4:49 PM

User image

Master
Berkeley, CA
I used to tri without sunglasses, and it was a marked improvement when I made the transition!! So I would definitely endorse the sunglass thing.