General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ironman Distance race ....Gotta do list Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-12-06 12:02 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Ironman Distance race ....Gotta do list

Ok so as I am fairly new to the Iron distance, I wanted to know what Iron distance races are worth the trip and what race should every Triathlete do at one point or another may it be sceneary, course terrain, volunteers, atmoshere...etc (no matter skill and based on your opinion) . 

Do not include Hawaii and others that you have to qualify for.

2012-12-06 12:27 PM
in reply to: #4524689

Iron Donkey
, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: Ironman Distance race ....Gotta do list

Do you have a cost hinderance based off of travel or entry?

1). Ironman-branded races fill quite quickly, so getting in to a race will require either being there in person to signup or being quick online or paying about double to get in through the foundation slot.

2). Ironman-branded races are costly.

3). There are other less costly long distance triathlons that can be found.

4). "Worth the trip" is subjective, depending on conditions, support, terrain, etc.  IM WI is always raved (in my backyard and has tremendous support!).  I've heard good things about IM AZ.  I'm sure quite a few others are raved, too.

5). There are REV3 triathlons that would be worth considering.

Consider stopping into the IronTalk forums!

2012-12-06 1:02 PM

User image

NC

Norseman looks pretty epic.

2012-12-06 1:20 PM
in reply to: #4524742

User image

Veteran
1stTimeTri - 2012-12-06 1:27 PM

1). Ironman-branded races fill quite quickly, so getting in to a race will require either being there in person to signup or being quick online or paying about double to get in through the foundation slot.