General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Introdution to the users of BT Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-12-19 7:57 PM

New user

Covington , Kentucky
Subject: Introdution to the users of BT

Hello, my name is Derek.  I started training two and a half weeks ago.  Doing a triathlon has always been a goal of mine.  I woke up about 3 weeks ago with a stiff neck and did some stretches.  I kept stretching everyday and decided that I might as well exercise and go for a tri.  I found this website and started on our journey. 

I started by walking 1 mile for three days per week and doing some pushups and a few other exercises.  Two days ago, I bought a new pair of shoes ( with new insoles) and did a great walk/run , tonight. 

I am 40 years old and my first goal is to run in the Flying Pig 5K.  After I plan on participating in a sprint triathlon in Cincinnati.

I have a 9 year old daughter, who ran on her school's cross country team.  So, I guess she has inspired me.  

I hope to see you all out on the course,  God Bless

2012-12-19 10:24 PM
in reply to: #4542122

User image

Extreme Veteran
Penticton, BC
Subject: RE: Introdution to the users of BT

Love the name of your planned 1st 5K.  Just that alone would make it worth doing.  40 isn't old here - in fact it is a great age to start.  I wish I had started when I was that young.

I'm a beginner runner, swimmer and cyclist but I finished two Sprints this year and it is a lot of fun - especially interacting with the other athletes.

BT is a great site and amazingly supportive.  Read lots and read some race reports to get inspiration.  Don't be afraid to ask questions either and if you can volunteer at some local Triathlons to learn more and meet empathetic people.  Since I've started training I've met so many people and learned so much.