General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Advice for my first 112 mile bike race Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-01-04 4:11 PM

South Wales, UK
Subject: Advice for my first 112 mile bike race
My wonderful husband has bought me for Christmas, an entry to the bike leg of the welsh ironman. It is held over a long course weekend and the bike leg is on the 13th july. it is considered to be the toughest in the ironman series, I am told. I am new to triathlon and completed a long sprint and an Olympic race last year. I love a challenge. We have two small children and I will be returning to work at the end of this year so I threw out there that I would love a challenge before I go back to work. I will also be doing my first middle distance race at the beginning of August. I have a road bike and I am quite slow, average about 16mph i am 40! I live in South Wales on the gower peninsula and there are hills everywhere. None of my rides are flat. My question is........ What advice can you give me? Regarding training, nutrition, anything would be helpful. Thank you xx

2013-01-04 4:13 PM
in reply to: #4562691

User image

Master
Salt Lake City
Subject: RE: Advice for my first 112 mile bike race
Are you only planning on doing the bike leg of the IM?
2013-01-04 5:18 PM

South Wales, UK
It's a long course weekend of the ironman course. So the swim is on the Friday, bike Saturday and run Sunday. You can pick and choose which part or you can do all of it. It is the same course as the iron man course but is organised by a different event team. Does that make sense?
2013-01-04 9:47 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Penticton, BC

16mph and 40 is a pretty good place to start.  Think of your ride as a long Gran Fondo ride.  Any amount of strengthening your CORE and specifically your Quads to make you stronger will help with your training.