General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running wish list! Any takers??? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-01-23 8:13 PM

Subject: Running wish list! Any takers???

I’m an MBA student doing research for a school project.  I’m hoping all runners can answer this question.  What technology does not exist today that if it was invented in the future would improve your running? (i.e. Avoid injury, speed, endurance, efficiency etc.)  As a runner what pains you? Pain doesn’t have to be interpreted literally 

Thanks

Des

2013-01-24 10:06 AM
in reply to: #4591971

User image

Master
Falls Church, VA
Subject: RE: Running wish list! Any takers???
I think being sideline by injury is the most frustrating thing for most runners. Anything that would prevent injury or speed recovery.
2013-01-24 10:22 AM

User image

Master
Grand Prairie

The question asked is a great question.

And as many other before I have suffered in the past and most likely will suffer in the future from nagging injuries. Being sidelined as a runner or triathlete is nothing fun. Just too many hours are lost to rest that could be used for training due to an unplanned invent.

To answer your question we must look at the causes for pains, literally and non literally. Yet prior to looking at the causes we should take a look at the pains.

There are the more direct pains:

- twisted ankle

- joints

- muscle

- tendence

And the other

- mental

- anxiety

- bowel movement

- full bladder

So now to look at the causes to come up with solutions you have a broad base.

From hoe ultra-sonic and x-ray machines to diagnose a fracture, over special designed running diapers, to sensors that measure your stride length relative to your body.

Maybe you want to narrow down your area of project?

2013-01-24 11:18 AM

User image

Maybe a mechanical motivator of some sort?!?