General Discussion Triathlon Talk » experiencing foot pain Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-02-13 7:37 AM

User image

New user

West St. Paul
Subject: experiencing foot pain
Yesterday I went for a short run, only 1.8 miles (since this is my recovery week).  Shortly after getting home I started experiencing a pain in the middle of the outside of my left foot.  It only seems to hurt when I put pressure on it, and it kind of feels like a cramp.  Any ideas as to what is going on, or what I can do about it?

2013-02-13 7:53 AM
in reply to: #4620260

User image

Master
Falls Church, VA
Subject: RE: experiencing foot pain

Could be a touch of plantar fascitis coming on.

How are your shoes? This could be a sign that they need replacing.

2013-02-13 8:15 AM
in reply to: #4620284

User image

New user

West St. Paul
My shoes have about 200 miles on them.  I'm new to this and only have one tri under my belt, so I guess I'm not sure how often I should be replacing them.
2013-02-13 8:38 AM

User image

Master
Burlington, Vermont
bjones101071 - 2013-02-13 8:37 AM Yesterday I went for a short run, only 1.8 miles (since this is my recovery week).  Shortly after getting home I started experiencing a pain in the middle of the outside of my left foot.  It only seems to hurt when I put pressure on it, and it kind of feels like a cramp.  Any ideas as to what is going on, or what I can do about it?

This does not sound like Plantar Fasciitis. First, PF tends to ease up once you've gotten things stretched out. You'll often notice it first thing in the morning when you get out of bed ... not necessarily after a run.

Second, PF wouldn't tend to present itself as a pain to the outside of the foot. The PF stretches from your heel, underneath the arch, and then attaches to the ball of your foot. If you place your foot across your leg and pull your big toe back, you'll see the PF along the bottom of your foot.