General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Sign up now or wait? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-02-15 11:42 AM

Subject: Sign up now or wait?

If you haven't read any of my other posts I'm a total newb in the pool.  I just started 3 weeks ago.   50 yards is a stretch for me right now. 

I really want to do some triathlons this year.  I'm definitely not signing up for a HIM until I know I can swim the distance.   What about sprints in the pool?  Should I pick one and sign up for it?  Is it acceptable to rest after every 50 yards at the side of the pool?  Will I be in anyones way? 

Hopefully in 2-3 months I will be able to swim 300-400 yards continuously.

I just don't want to pressure myself with the swim. 

What do you all think?  What was your first tri experience like?

2013-02-15 11:49 AM
in reply to: #4623863

User image

Master
Falls Church, VA
Subject: RE: Sign up now or wait?

I would go ahead and sign up for a pool swim. it will give you a goal to shoot for.

The danger is minimized in a pool swim because you can  catch a breather at the end if you need and worse case, you can usually stand up or grab the rope if needed.

2013-02-15 11:55 AM

Veteran
Tennessee
As long as you seed youself correctly it shouldn't be a problem. They usually ask you what your estimated time it will take you to finish the swim. IF it takes you 10 minutes then put 10 minutes. They will put you in order from fastest to slowest swimmer.
2013-02-15 12:03 PM
in reply to: #4623885

User image

Sensei
Sin City

I tend to wait on paying for any even as long as I can.  Anything might come up.  Obviously with some prudence.  If the price jumps dramatically or if there is a fear of it selling out, I pay sooner.

2013-02-15 12:14 PM
in reply to: #4623898

User image

Veteran
Kido - 2013-02-15 1:03 PM