General Discussion Triathlon Talk » To be a swimmer, you must swim. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-02-21 4:07 PM

South Wales, UK
Subject: To be a swimmer, you must swim.
So I feel like a complete beginner in the pool again. I haven't swam in the pool since last July. Since then I have swam in the sea quite steadily until October, in my wetsuit. It is free so why pay pool fees of £25 per month! I took the whole of winter off from swimming as I do not particularly enjoy it. But oh what a fool I am, I am oh what a fool I am! I could barely make it to the end of the 50 metre pool!!!! And breathe............. Utter craziness especially as I am supposed to be doing a HIM in July after only doing a long sprint and oly last year. The second time in the pool felt a little better moving through the water and I hope to manage 200m without stopping tomorrow , what high hopes I have......... Anyone else had a similar experience?

2013-02-21 4:11 PM
in reply to: #4632234

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: To be a swimmer, you must swim.
Just had the same experience last month.  5 months off...hardly 50 meters.  5 weeks and I'm back to 1000 meter workouts.   Hang in there...it'll come back.
2013-02-21 4:15 PM

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii

yeah it comes back but it's hard to get going again after time off.

I basically bagged swimming after my last race in Oct, and just started again this month...ooh boy did I feel it.

but after a few weeks, I'm going ok.

2013-02-21 4:52 PM

Master

Just went through this myself after taking 3 months off. 

I was horrified in the past 4 weeks at how slow my times were for how hard I was working in the pool. I had to check and recheck my old swim times to make sure I didn't typo them, since they seemed so much faster that it was unfathomable for me in my outofshapness. Really made me feel like giving up completely.