General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 12 wk program, race complete... what next? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-02-24 11:20 PM

User image

, Washington
Subject: 12 wk program, race complete... what next?

I'm a rookie with a competitive swimming background through high school.  Been swimming on a masters team for the past four years.  Toward the end of May, if all goes as planned, I'll have completed a 12 week training program almost twice through (w/ slight mods) and my first Olympic distance triathlon (first triathlon of any distance for that matter).

I've been pondering the thought of how to continue my training on into the season after this first race?  I have another oly planned two weeks later, so was thinking about training moderate to heavy for one week, then a quick taper week before race #2.  After that though, what next?  Hop right back into an 8 or 12 week program?  Will the training be too light at the beginning of those programs?  Perhaps select the heavier training blocks and repeat through them as required throwing in one more taper toward the end of the season in late August for a local oly that I plan to race in?

Any thoughts, comments, or sage advice is welcome.

-Nat

2013-02-25 1:57 AM
in reply to: #4635462

User image

Regular
Aalborg, Denmark
Subject: RE: 12 wk program, race complete... what next?
New goals. Either work on significantly improving your times, or find something new to focus on. Either a marathon, a half ironman or go the full distance.
2013-02-25 12:38 PM

User image

Pro

your race is still 3 months from now.  Focus on that, not what is after.

but if you are already 'hooked' and plan on doing more tri's, then start searching the calendar for what race you wanna' do afterwards.  I trained for my first long sprint tri- thought it was such a hoot, I went and did my 1st oly 5 days later.  took me a couple weeks to recover after that

2013-02-25 1:09 PM

User image

Regular
Euless, Texas